Xclusively Jaguar
SNG Barratt
David Marks Garages
Make a donation to XJ40.com

Cleaning then..

coeus2k

Cleaning then..

Postby coeus2k » Sun Jul 24, 2011 8:46 pm

As I'm new to all this XJ40 stuff I want to get off onto the right foot with cleaning the exterior. I am willing to get polish and wax etc but is there any advice on the inital washing of the car, would people recommend jet wash, hand wash, using something other than general water and shampoo i.e wiping the car rather than soaking it with water etc?

Sorry to sound a little dumb but I dont want to just go ahead and do the wrong thing.

Regards,

Lee

NMV 1E
Distinguished Mbr

Re: Cleaning then..

Postby NMV 1E » Sun Jul 24, 2011 9:50 pm

I don't know if this is "Recomended" but my method has always to use plenty of water and simply wash ! A good branded "Car shampoo" is useful for getting the really grimy stuff off. One tip I will pass on is to try and get hold of one of those "Micrlofibre" towels (they look just like a hand towel) usually bright yellow in colour. They are excellent at drying off.
Life begins at Forty !... I was born with nothing, I seem to have most of it left.

2002 Titan Silver BMW 316ti Auto Compact
2000 Bright Green V.W. Avantgarde Cabriolet
1989 White and Navy Blue V.W. Golf Cabriolet (G.T.i.)

nlcrane
Spain Rep

Postby nlcrane » Sun Jul 24, 2011 10:37 pm